You are not logged in.

• "SilentWater" started this thread

Tuesday, October 17th 2017, 5:10pm

Help Needed for Research Paper on perception of apparent Discount in E-Commerce

Hey everyone,

So some of you might be knowing that I am doing my Masters in Business Administration. I am in my 2nd and final year here and I have taken on a research paper regarding the perception of apparent discounts in online purchases.

A little background -
My paper aims at observing consumer behaviour and purchase patterns while purchasing items online. You might know that during "Sales", e-commerce companies like Amazon worldwide and Flipkart in India, increase price of certain private label items to 2-3 times their marked price, then slap on an 80-90% discount on them to appeal to consumers. The actual price you are paying remains no more than 2-3% lower than before the apparent discount. A reason why this is done on private labels (i.e. Apparels or items manufactured by the E-Com company itself, so basically they own it)

Now my question here is thus -
If you as consumers, know about the false markup, would you still prefer to buy from that online store?
Is there any resentment against that online company?
Would there be a difference in your thoughts and buying behaviour if there was not a monopoly or duopoly? (Either one of two companies dominating the entire market)

I would love to hear your thoughts about this.

With Regards,
Silent.

• "-Cahal-" has been banned

Tuesday, October 17th 2017, 5:40pm

Off-topic within an off-topic thread, if not interested, you can just skip it:

This kind of reminds me those mathematics questions in hornpub comments section.
It's better to be silent and be thought a fool than to speak and remove all doubt. What's even better is to weaponize your words to destroy anyone who dares challenge you.

• "SilentWater" started this thread

Tuesday, October 17th 2017, 6:38pm